Click to Home
Go To Search
Click to Home
Email pagePrint page
Vehicle Titles
Title Fees

  For a full list of fees effective July 1, 2013 click here.

  • Title Fee (New and Duplicate) - $15.00
  • VIN Inspection - $10.00
  • Copies (per page) - $0.25

Driver's Privacy Protection Act
Click here to learn more about obtaining title information for vehicles you do not own.

Titling a Vehicle Purchased From a Private Party

Transferring the title of a vehicle currently titled in Wyoming:

The original Wyoming title properly signed by the seller(s), notarized, and free of any liens must be presented to the County Clerk. Wyoming titles require all owners whose names appear on the face to sign as seller in the presence of a notary public. No matter how the names are joined (i.e.: John OR Jane Doe) all owners must sign.

The purchaser's name and address must be filled in on the back of the title and the purchaser must sign the purchaser's application in the presence of a notary.

If the vehicle was manufactured within the last ten (10) years, an odometer disclosure statement must be completed. All Wyoming titles have this statement on the reverse side for the seller to complete, and most titles have the purchaser's acknowledgment, a separate odometer disclosure statement must be completed by both the seller and the purchaser.

Transferring the title of a vehicle currently titled in another state:

The original title must be presented to the County Clerk properly signed by the seller(s), notarized and free of any liens. Depending on how the owner's names are joined, some states require that all sellers sign and some require only one signature to transfer ownership. Also, some states require a notary and some do not. As a general rule, if there is a place for a notary, have the seller(s) sign in the presence of a notary public. The Clerk's office can help you determine who needs to sign and if it needs notarized.

The purchaser must complete a State of Wyoming application for title, including obtaining a factory price from the County Treasurer's Motor Vehicle Department, signing as purchaser in front of a notary, and having a Wyoming law enforcement officer complete the certification of correct VIN numbers. If the vehicle is located out of Wyoming, there is a separate Out of State VIN Inspection Form that may be used. This must be completed by a law enforcement officer.

If the vehicle was manufactured within the last ten (10) years, an odometer disclosure statement must be completed by both the seller and the purchaser.

Titling a Vehicle Purchased From a Dealer

Usually when you purchase a vehicle from a dealership, they will forward the title or MSO and other paperwork to the County Clerk or lien holder. When this office receives your paperwork, we will either issue your title and hold it for payment of sales tax, or notify you that we require additional paperwork or fees to complete your title.

Titling a new vehicle from a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO):

The original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, properly signed and notarized must be presented to the County Clerk accompanied by a State of Wyoming application for title. The owner may sign the application in the presence of a notary.

The dealer must properly complete the odometer disclosure portion on the MSO or both the dealer and the purchaser must complete a separate odometer disclosure form. Wyoming dealers should also provide a Wyoming Sales/Use Tax Form, an Affidavit of Vehicle Valuation and an invoice. Other dealers should provide an invoice.

Titling a Used Vehicle

The original title properly signed by the seller(s), notarized, and free of any liens must be presented to the County Clerk. Wyoming titles require all owners whose names appear on the face to sign as seller in the presence of a notary public. NO matter how the names are joined (i.e.: John OR Jane Doe) all owners must sign. Depending on what other state the title is from, some states require that all sellers sign and some require only one signature to transfer ownership. Also, some states require a notary and some do not. As a general rule, if there is a place for a notary, have the seller(s) sign in the presence of a notary public. The Clerk's office can help you determine who needs to sign and if it needs notarized.

If purchasing from a licensed Wyoming dealer, the dealer should provide a Dealer Reassignment Form. The purchaser must sign this form in the presence of a notary. The dealer shall complete the remainder of the form including the certification of VIN numbers when the title is from out of state, and if the vehicle was manufactured within the last ten (10) years, the odometer disclosure section must be completed.

If purchasing from an out of state dealer, the purchaser must complete a State of Wyoming application for title, including obtaining a factory price from the Motor Vehicle Department, signing as purchaser in front of a notary, and having a Wyoming law enforcement officer complete the certification of correct VIN numbers. If the vehicle is located out of Wyoming, there is a separate Out of State VIN Inspection Form that may be used. This form must be completed by a law enforcement officer. The dealer should also provide an invoice.


Carbon County, WY
Home Home  |  Email Page Email Page  | Print Page Print  |  Calendar  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map |  Renewable Energy Windpowered | Powered by CivicPlus  | Copyright Notices